Disney Announces EIGHT New Marvel Film Release Dates As MCU Enters Next Phase.

Disney Announces EIGHT New Marvel Film Release Dates As MCU Enters Next Phase

Disney Studios has announced a massive slate of films all set to be released between now and 2027 - including EIGHT new Marvel films. The films will see in the next part of the Marvel Cinematic Universe (MCU) - as Phase 3 draws to an end with the recent box office smash Avengers: Endgame, and July release Spider-Man: Far From Home. The slate shows eight spots for 'Untitled Marvel' projects - on May 1, 2020, November 6, 2020, February 12, 2021, May 7, 2021, November 5, 2021, February 18, 2022, May 6, 2022, July 29, 2022. It could mean another run out for characters like Dr Strange, Black Panther and Captain Marvel as the new superhero collective is led by Spider-Man. An origins film around Scarlett Johansson's Black Widow is also heavily rumoured - and could even start shooting this summer. The Walt Disney Studios' 2019 summer slate continues with Disney's Aladdin (May 24), Fox's Dark Phoenix (June 7), Pixar's Toy Story 4 (June 21), Fox's Stuber (July 12), and Disney's The Lion King (July 19). Fox 2000's The Art of Racing in the Rain moves up to August 9, and Fox Searchlight's Ready or Not will be released August 23, while three films move to later dates: Ad Astra (September 20, 2019), The New Mutants (April 3, 2020), and Artemis Fowl (May 29, 2020).
The Studios' 2019 slate rounds out with Fox's The Woman in the Window October 4 and Ford V. Ferrari November 15, followed by Disney's Maleficent: Mistress of Evil October 18, Disney Animation's Frozen 2 November 22, Lucasfilm's Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker December 20, and Blue Sky Studios' Spies in Disguise, moving from September 13 to Christmas. Early 2020 titles include Fox's Underwater January 10, a new Kingsman movie February 14, and Call of the Wild February 21, followed by Pixar's Onward March 6 and Disney's Mulan March 27. In late 2020, Fox's West Side Story adaptation, directed by Steven Spielberg, will open December 18, followed by Disney's Cruella, opening Wednesday, December 23, for the long holiday weekend.
The updated calendar also sets release dates for major franchises Avatar and Star Wars. With Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker bringing the original Skywalker Saga to its conclusion in 2019, three new as-yet-untitled Star Wars films will release on the pre-Christmas weekend every other year beginning in 2022. Four more Avatar films will be released on the pre-Christmas weekend every other year beginning in 2021."We're excited to put in place a robust and diverse slate that lays the foundation of our long-term strategy, bringing together a breadth of films from Disney, Pixar, Marvel, Lucasfilm, Fox, Fox Searchlight, and Blue Sky Studios to create an extraordinary collection of cinematic experiences for audiences around the world," said Cathleen Taff, President, Theatrical Distribution, Franchise Management, and Business & Audience Insights, The Walt Disney Studios."With a strong summer already in place, we are eager to carry that momentum forward over the coming years thanks to a creative wellspring of bold and imaginative stories coming from our world-class studios-including several new chapters of two revered franchises, Avatar and Star Wars."